Manjioca: Uma Brasilian Feminista…

“I have come to believe over and over again that what is most important to me must be spoken, made verbal and shared, even at the risk of having it bruised or misunderstood.” ~Audre Lorde~

Our bodies, our lenguas, our languages… September 11, 2008

Filed under: Prose — manjioca @ 3:26 am

My body is my language, and my language
embodies me
in every way.

When I, in my Portuspanglish, oppress your static English
I WILL NOT, I cannot
apologize my sister.

I cannot apologize for the language my Mothers have given me because,
how can i say what saudades is in English without leaving out its soul, its TRUE essence?

How can i say extranote in English without erasing the spectrum of colors extranar leaves behind?

My sister, I cannot choke the language which so long has been oppressed in my throat.

I have already paid the price for it, thought you would understand.

I stand on the shoulders of Lorde, Anzaldua, hooks, Moraga, Barcelo, Vest, Delgado-Bernal…
they are my steps up, and arriba para cima!

How would you like me to serve you the etymology of puro amor, axe? Hot or cold?

Because I only know it in the Calor que pica en mi LENGUA

Don’t you know that my miscegination has left me living outside of our circle?

But yet I can walk there too?

Sister, understand me, pues I am willing to understand you…

Take your Alma and weave it to my own

Not to SILENCE you
But to SING with you
NEVER to EXCLUDE you

but to shine the Light on ALL OF US

So that tomorrow, manana, amanha…

we speak
falar
hablar,
parlar

JUST AIR.

 

One Response to “Our bodies, our lenguas, our languages…”

  1. David Says:

    This is Beutiful.. As is the Picture, Siqueiros is a very good artist, even if he did try to kill Trotsky.. I saw that mural in Mexico City, located inside the Palacio de Bellas Artes.. its extraordinary seeing it in person.. props sis¡


Leave a Reply

