Manjioca: Uma Brasilian Feminista…

“I have come to believe over and over again that what is most important to me must be spoken, made verbal and shared, even at the risk of having it bruised or misunderstood.” ~Audre Lorde~

Sou uma Brasileira Chingona! September 12, 2008

Filed under: Prose — manjioca @ 5:04 am

She asked me,
“Just give me instances of your TRUE Nationality”
Eu digo:
“I cant believe you!” because…
sou filha de, I am a daughter of
MY COUNTRY
She gave birth to my heart through
years of miscegination
she made me everything and anything
and at the same time, Nothing.

She gave birth to me to learn “Samba” in another country
to eat salgadinhos made by Mexicans
to learn to fight like a Puerto Rican, can.

She gave birth to me so that everyday I could dream of her, my mother country,
She gave birth to me to be free from Brazilian Racial Democracy.

She, gave birth to me, so that I could sing my insecurities
and laugh at my pains. So that everyday
I am more Brasilian by being away from home
than I am by being in her womb.

She gave birth to me so that I could wrap our umbilical cord around me and say
“These are Not Chains!”
because my identity forever remains
in the Silence of my voice
in the hybridity of my body,
the “axe” in my soul

my Mother Country cannot be eradicated by my U.S. identity
porque ela vive
todos los dias
dentro de mim

 

Leave a Reply

