Manjioca: Uma Brasilian Feminista…

“I have come to believe over and over again that what is most important to me must be spoken, made verbal and shared, even at the risk of having it bruised or misunderstood.” ~Audre Lorde~

Blank Canvas October 2, 2008

Filed under: Brasilian Writers,Prose — manjioca @ 6:39 am

Epiphanies keep circling my mind
intertwined are images of what could be, if i were just to
sit down and paint it all out, for some sort of
re-lax-ation..
i fear seeing the truth on that blank canvas tonight.

it is where my dreams come true
in all different hues.
can i with these images manifest my soul
into dancing outside of me, and reaching out for everyone to see?

fear being the opposite of Faith,
Faith being eclectic in its destination
comes differently to you and me
if we look @ that blank canvas and see differing things

positionality has left us standing on
margins and centers
epistemology has left you
scratching your head
and us trying to understand
hegemony has crucified my theoretical Christ
Heuristics have raped me of my privacy
for exotic curiosities
etymology has left us scrambling for
piecemeal
or just plain meals.

I cannot picture that blankcanvas whole
because there are so many parts
that keep viajando vagando
vagabundando…
like me, gypsy.

but i am not afraid of taking
that heuristic and tying it into
a seed, placing my hands inside my mother
earth for (re)birth…

nao tenho medo do dia, that envelops me with hegemony
when my words and thoughts are often misunderstood.

but we cannot refute that blank canvas waiting on the wall

or maybe there is no canvas at all.

 

One Response to “Blank Canvas”

  1. David Says:

    if you like this, you might want to explore Dialectical Materialism.. I have a pamphlet on it if you want one.. or I can give you some good links..

    David


Leave a Reply

